How Contacts Join Your Group(s)
Your contacts can join your Everyone group or a specific group(s) in your Contacts section from their device. This provides a simple way to keep contacts organized.
To join the Everyone list:
- Text the word JOIN to your account's toll-free number.
- The contact will receive a text confirming that they’ve been put into your contacts: "You have signed up and will now receive text alerts from [Company Name]." If you wish to change the response they receive, you can enable a Customized Join Reply.
- This will place their phone number into your account’s Everyone list with the note "Opted in via JOIN to [your toll-free number]".
To join a specific contact group:
- Option 1: Text the word JOIN followed by a space and the group name that they want to join (Example: JOIN STAFF) to your account's toll-free number.
- Option 2: Text the word JOIN followed by a space and the group keyword to your account's toll-free number. See the second section of this article to see where to set up a group keyword.
- The contact will receive a text confirming that they’ve been put into your group.
- The contact’s phone number will appear in both the Everyone list and the created group with the note "Opted in via JOIN to [your toll-free number]".
Other things to note:
- If a contact attempts to join a specific group and spells the group name incorrectly......
- We will put their phone number in your Everyone list. However, they will not be placed in a specific group.
- They will receive a text confirming that they were put into your Everyone list and explain that we were unable to put them in a specific group because the name was incorrect.
- We'll display any join attempt through the Conversations section of your account.
- If you change the name of the Group name, those that have joined that group will not be removed from the group.